One of the great unanticipated pleasures of blogging is connecting with other bloggers and readers from around the world.

Amongst others, I have had the chance to interact with a small family farm in California, a glamour girl in Colorado, a self-proclaimed displaced Scot living in the Alsace region of France, and a newly graduated medical doctor on the Gold Coast of Australia who bakes for stress-relief.

And I’m seriously thankful and indebted to those following my blog.

There are other huge surprises about blogging too. For one thing, I realized shortly after I started up that it was the first time in my life that I haven’t had somebody – anybody – telling me what to do.

That’s not quite true actually. A couple of people have tried to tell me what to do with my blog but the thing is – it’s my blog. If the suggestion sounds good, I’m happy to try it. But advice I don’t like – I can pretty much ignore. This is entirely novel to me. And I LIKE it!

On top of all this is the added bonus of constantly trying out new recipes. I love cooking anyway. I’m always in my kitchen and my kitchen chalkboard is full of new ideas. I’m all re-invigorated! When I get chance, I wander about the markets and foodie shops buying things I’m not even sure what to do with and then start experimenting.

This recipe for a flourless, butterless orange Torte comes from the truly LOVELY blog of the displaced Scot living in the Alsace – Lovely Buns. You can find her and the recipe at: http://lovelybuns.wordpress.com/2012/09/09/orange-and-almond-tort-no-flour-no-butter/.

I knew I’d love this elegant-looking cake as soon as I saw the photograph and read the ingredient list. It’s incredibly moist and has an intense orange flavour and a great texture and richness thanks to the ground almonds. As a huge bonus, it’s also suitable for those on gluten- and dairy-free diets (minus the whipping cream garnish of course). I love that it’s simple – using only a few ingredients. That’s my favourite way to cook.

So with full credit to Candy and her lovely buns – here’s my ever so slightly Canadian-ized version of her Torte. Please visit her site and check out all her beautiful photographs and recipes. Thank you Candy!

Note that you must bring the orange to the boil and then simmer it for an hour before you start the cake.

Orange and Almond Torte

1 medium orange

3 eggs

1 cup sugar

2 ¼ cups ground almonds (sometimes called almond meal)

½ tsp baking powder

Icing sugar to dust

In a medium saucepan, cover the orange (whole) with water and bring it to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer for an hour, then drain thoroughly and allow to cool. Cut off the ends of the orange, cut into quarters, remove any seeds, and then place the orange (skin and all) into a food processor and blend saucepan to a smooth puree.

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Beat together the eggs and sugar for a couple of minutes until thick and pale, then fold in the ground almonds, baking powder and orange puree. Pour the batter into a well-greased 9 inch spring-form pan and bake for 40-50 minutes.

Allow the cake to cool before removing from the pan. Dust with icing sugar and serve with whipped cream, crème fraiche, or Greek yoghurt. I served mine with whipped cream and homemade fresh fig jam.

14 thoughts on “the joy of blogging and the flourless, butterless orange-almond torte

    1. Hello Hungry Mum! Thank you – and yes it truly is one of the surprising joys of blogging – the unexpected interactions with people around the globe. I’m a dual Australian / Canadian citizen – and love following your Australian blog…. memories of passionfruit etc.

  1. I can identify with everything you’re saying;I have people in Italy,Ireland Australia,India and Malaysia…and more than a few Canadians…Canadians love their food! ( Maybe I should emigrate?)
    I have goals in my blog;to show people that they CAN cook and entertain and to tell their stories.I have people trying to get me to make it professional,to show them what I made in my bakery/restaurant,( fancy cakes and all), or conversely, to show only easy, foods using all processed food products. Please yourself first; people will follow and I am going to be checking back with you!

Leave a Reply

