Last night, in Vermont, where I’m spending a month, we were hunkered down awaiting the approach of Hurricane Sandy.

Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin had called a state of emergency in advance of the storm and ordered in 250 extra line crews from other states and Canada to deal with possible power outages.

Utility trucks coming from Canada were backed up at the border as they made their way here. Luckily – they weren’t needed. In the end, Vermont was mostly spared.

That wasn’t the case in 2011 when the state was deluged with rain after Hurricane Irene. Flooding caused devastating and widespread damage with lengthy power outages. Roads and bridges including historic covered bridges were knocked out and destroyed and dozens of towns were left isolated. It was Vermont’s worst natural disaster since an epic flood in 1927.

This is an interesting time to be in the USA. Between the hurricane, Hallowe’en, the federal election, and American Thanksgiving – there’s a lot going on – even here in  the Green Mountains of Vermont. (I was shocked to learn the population of the entire state of Vermont is only 626,000 – it really is beautiful and rural – and the apples grown here are the best I’ve ever had!)

With the worst of Hurricane Sandy over for most of us – it’s time for a bit of Hallowe’en. I’ve made these assorted bugs for years along with severed finger biscuits and pumpkin-shaped sugar cookies. Hallowe’en has lost most of its excitement for me since the days my children were young. And my culinary tastes have moved on too. But it’s a ritual for me to make these assorted chocolate bugs every Hallowe’en. I like to remember the days when I had eager, sticky chocolate-y little hands helping me put the eyes on the bugs.

Assorted Chocolate Bugs

225 grams (about 1 & 1/4 cups) semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup butterscotch chips

2 cups of chow mein noodles (these are the pre-cooked ready-to-eat variety – apparently they often come in a can although I buy these pre-packaged at the supermarket)

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 cup mini marshmallows

mini m&m’s for eyes

Melt the chocolate and butterscotch chips together in a double-boiler or in microwave on low power. Add peanut butter, chow mein noodles, and marshmallows – stir well. Drop mixture onto waxed paper on a cookie sheet and place ‘eyes’ on each bug. Chill!

18 thoughts on “assorted chocolate bugs

  1. These bugs look delicious…hope you suvive the hurricane , our son ,joe, is in bridgeport CT…having beer and pancakes for breakfast before the power goes out!!…we are in Montreaux switzerland, finishing up our 3 weeks here, then on sat. we get on o cruise ship for a 2 week trip back home…hope all the weather will be back to normal by then… take care…xxx…jane and dan

    1. BEER and PANCAKES!! An interesting culinary combination! Hope his power stays on. He may need a coffee chaser.
      Fingers crossed that the weather is beautifully settled for your cruise home. Safe, safe, happy travels. Lindy xox

  2. wonderful….. I will try these bugs………..are you really away for a month? I don’t live correctly!

    hugs
    .
    susan xo

    1. hi Susan – your students will love the bugs. So cute.
      I really am away for a month – on a writing residency in Vermont. I am sitting in my studio looking out across the river thinking that I should buckle down….
      xoxoxo

  3. Hey–I can see you are thinking of the sweet Halloweens of the past when our kids war young(er). LOL Is Lola not with you? Hope you have a wonderful productive time, and save a few bugs for those pauses between the lines. . . : ) OX

    1. Thanks Sara – I miss my Lola. She’s home supervising the cat and roaming the hood. I don’t have phone coverage to talk to her and she’s a lousy correspondent.
      Vermont is lovely and I’m doing my best to be productive. xox

  4. We are so far inland, that we got a lot of wind and blowing rain, but next to nothing. (I have lived in Central KY for the last 18 years; Colorado before that for 11 years,Idaho for a year before that and I was raised in the Washington, DC area… for the first 27 years,(do the math!). I love chocolate and I love Peanut butter, but not always together.I’ll try ; I know my d-in-law and the granddaughters would love them. They are CUTE!

  5. We were fortunate here in Toronto — there was very little damage, although a number of homes lost power. I know a couple of sticky little hands that would love to add the eyes to these bugs. Such a cute recipe — I can see why it is a tradition in your family!

Leave a Reply

