002

I know “the best ever” is a lofty claim. A dangerous one in fact.

Still, I’m going to stand by it. Challenge me if you like. If you can make a better gluten-free oatmeal cookie…

… I’d love the recipe. Please and thank you.

For now though, I’ve made several batches of this recipe – all variations on a theme. I think I have it perfected. I LOVE these cookies. They’re soft, chewy, and loaded with flavour, fibre and protein. They keep well (if for some reason you manage to keep them around). There are no strange ingredients unlike lots of gluten-free recipes. And as cookies go, these are healthy. Plus they are infinitely variable. You can add Reese’s pieces like I did here or chocolate chips or seasonal m&m’s or Smarties or just skip the chocolate altogether (WOT?!) and add raisins or cranberries or walnuts or pumpkin seeds. But really, don’t skip the dates – that hit of sweet, soft fruit works so perfectly in these cookies.

If you follow my blog – you’ll probably know that I don’t have to eat gluten-free but I’m trying to reduce wheat and gluten in my diet to keep my migraines under control. Amazingly, it’s working. But I’m having to learn a whole new way of baking. I’m not kidding when I say I’ve made several batches of these cookies trying to perfect the recipe.

I don’t have a story today. Or a literary quote. So I’m going to wrap this up and give you the recipe without (much further) delay. I just wanted to share the beauty of this morning’s dog walk before I do that. It’s November – and usually that means drab and gray and dreary. Last week it was bitterly cold and snowy. But yesterday it warmed up and this morning the snow was gone and the sun was glinting on the bare fields. These shots were taken a block from my house – the trail where I walk my dog almost every day before coming home to spend time at my desk writing – breaking now and then to make tea – knit a row or two on the infinity scarf I’m working on in a beautiful soft, pale blue mohair (let me know if you want that recipe) – or sneak a few minutes on my blog while my dog Lola naps the day away at my feet. She’s been twitching in her sleep this afternoon. Pretty sure she’s dreaming about Wallace – the handsome black Labradoodle she met on the trail this morning.

20141124_114506

the marshland along the path where I watch for owls

20141124_115117

trail through the naked woods

20141124_114450

November sun glinting on Butternut Creek

011

and this is Lola on Lola’s bed (she likes the animal prints)

best ever gluten-free oatmeal cookies

  • Servings: a couple of dozen
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1/2 cup butter, coconut oil, or margarine
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 cup peanut butter or almond butter
  • 4 cups quick cooking oats (can use gluten free here if required)
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 cup chopped dates – I used Medjool dates because they’re SO good and worth every cent
  • 1 cup mini Reese’s pieces

Beat together the butter (I used half coconut oil and half margarine) and the sugars. Add eggs, vanilla essence, and peanut butter. Beat until mixed.

Stir in the oatmeal and sea salt. Add the dates and chocolate.

Drop by the spoonful on buttered cookie sheets. Bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes or until browned. Remove cookies a wire rack to cool.

gluten free oatmeal cookies

006

15 thoughts on “a day in the life of – and the best ever (gluten-free) oatmeal cookies

  1. Such lovely cookies. My Jessica loves oatmeal cookies, so I think I just might have to make them for her! Besides, it gives me a good excuse to eat a couple of them myself!

    It has been quite the wintry weather lately, so a beautiful sunshiny day is definitely a prize! I got to enjoy a few minutes of it on my lunch today, but nothing as pretty as your photos. Instead, I was on Niagara Falls Blvd, fighting traffic from both American and our Canadian friends. It’s that time of year, so it’s going to be insane around here! But, nonetheless, it was a beautiful day, and even more so with this delicious cookie recipe.. ❤ Much love.

    1. Dear Prudy, I’ve not been on my reader for days and days. So I’ve missed you but you’ve been on my mind a lot for some reason and I promise I’ll spend some time tonight catching up.
      Did you have that same intense snowfall that Buffalo had?
      Yes – it is that time of year. The time to hunker down and avoid the world as much as possible. I’ll be on my trail and in my kitchen. Buckets of love back. ❤

  2. It was so kind of you to make so many batches of these in order to ensure you were sharing only the finest of researched recipes! My daughter eats gluten-free when possible & I’ll share this her! She will also probably have to make several batches, too!
    Beautiful place to walk, but no picture of Lola?

    1. Actually Johnny – it’s the sky and not the lake in that photograph but I see what you mean. There was this crazy band of intense blue on the horizon this morning – just gorgeous. I do live VERY close to Lake Ontario and see it every day and it is like the sea – but my daily walk is a trail along the back of the suburb I live in. I love that – that I live in suburb with it’s own built-in trail. And that I have access to at least a patch of wild land.

  3. I think the cookies sound and look great, anything with medjool dates in it gets my attention. The photo’s are just beautiful and Lola must have such a nice time on her walks. Glad the GF diet is helping the migraines.

  4. Oatmeal cookies are my favorite and I usually put raisins in them. Using dates plus peanut butter is different and delicious new treat. It looks like you made the most of a beautiful day…the area where you walk is lovely.

  5. Gorgeous photos, and I most certainly want to try the cookies… Most importantly… Wot does Lola think of dem???

  6. These cookies look so good. My eye is drawn to the colour of what my brain has been trained to spot..chocolate which make them doubly fab. These are the sort that you know won’t last long.

Leave a Reply

